Study WREAC Scholarships

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

WREAC Scholarships

The White Rose East Asia Centre offers several WREAC scholarships funded by the Economic and Social Science Research Council (ESRC).  The purpose of the scholarships is to develop the capacity to conduct research in the area of contemporary East Asian Studies using original language sources. WREAC scholarships are available within the White Rose East Asia Centre for a PhD or combination of MA+PhD (1+3 or 2+3) or MA starting each year in September.

The deadline for scholarship applications to WREAC each year is 15th March.

Scholarships could be within any of the Centre's research clusters, and address issues relating to Chinese and/or Japanese Studies.

The Centre organises its research into four research clusters:

  • Business, Political Economy and Development
  • East Asian Identities and Cultures
  • Social Change and Transition in East Asia
  • Regionalisation and Globalisation

For further information on the WREAC research please visit the research page. The Centre comprises East Asian Studies at both Leeds and Sheffield, successful candidates will be registered at either Leeds or Sheffield, but in integrated programmes they may commence their MA studies at one institution and then transfer to the other for their PhD work. In all cases, some travel would normally be required between the two universities and, for each student, supervisors will be appointed from both institutions.

Further guidance on the level of funding available and the eligibility requirements for applicants can be found in ESRC's 'Guidance Notes for Applicants'.

As all scholarships are highly competitive, applicants are encouraged to pursue other scholarship opportunities at the University of Leeds and the University of Sheffield.  Please note the deadline for each scholarship.


NIJS logonics_small

The University of Leeds logo with a link to the UoL Department of East Asian Studies.

The University of Sheffield logo with a link to the UoS School of East Asian Studies.

Logo of the National Insitute of Chinese Studies

Logo of the National Insitute of Japanese Studies