People

The White Rose East Asia Centre brings together core researchers in Chinese and Japanese studies, as well as associate researchers looking more broadly at the East Asian region. The centre's honorary fellows are researchers who have contributed and provided important links towards the centre's main aim of furthering research and training on modern China and Japan.

The centre provides language, methods and cultural training to postgraduate students and early career researchers working on East Asia. Students have been funded through ESRC scholarships associated with WREAC's grant funding and other means, including the White Rose Social Science Doctoral Training Centre's Language-based Area Studies: East Asian Studies training pathway.

The Executive Board is responsible for achieving the mission and aims through the day-to-day operation of the Centre and is entirely composed of WREAC researchers.

The International Advisory Board monitors the performance of the Centre in achieving its mission and aims and is composed of the Vice-Chancellors of the Universities of Leeds and Sheffield, international experts, users and staff.

WREAC also comprises non-research staff, including language tutors and support staff who are included in the list below.

Showing 104 items
PositionNameField of ResearchTelephoneEmail
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
PositionNameField of ResearchTelephoneEmail
Associate Researcher Bramall, Chris Chinese Economy  +44 (0)207 898 4616 c.m.bramall@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Caldwell, Ian Southeast Asian history  i.caldwell@leeds.ac.uk 
Associate Researcher Chheang, Vannarith Regionalism and development in Southeast Asia, East Asian political economy and Cambodian politics +44 (0)113 343 3546 V.Chheang@leeds.ac.uk 
Associate Researcher Christiansen, Flemming Chinese Society, Development and Culture +49 203 379 2150 f.christiansen@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Clayton, David Asian History +44 (01904) 322 2988 d.clayton@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Coffey, Dan J. Asian Economy +44 (0)113 343 4485 d.j.coffey@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Cross, Adam R. Chinese Management +44 (0)113 343 4587 a.r.cross@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Dauncey, Sarah Chinese Literature and Culture +44 (0)114 222 8436 s.dauncey@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Dosch, Jörn Southeast Asian Politics +44 (0)113 343 3558 j.dosch@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Elfving-Hwang, Jo Korean Literature  j.elfving-hwang@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Francks, Penelope Japanese Economy and History  p.g.francks@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Fuess, Harald Japanese History, Management and Society +49 (0) 6221 54 4080 h.fuess@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Gaitanidis, Ioannis Japanese society, religion and medical practices  i.gaitanidis@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Goto-Jones, Christopher Japanese Politics and Philosophy +31 (0)71 527 2543 c.goto-jones@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Griffiths, Michael B. Chinese Society  m.griffiths@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Horn, Sierk Japanese Economy, Management and Society +44 (0)113 343 3464 s.horn@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Kersten, Rikki Japanese History and Philosophy  r.kersten@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Kim, Soyeun Japanese International Political Economy +44 (0)113 343 7107 s.kim@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Ko, Humphrey Chinese Law  h.ko@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Ko, Mika Japanese Media and Culture  m.ko@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Lee, Hyang-jin Korean and Japanese Popular Culture  h.j.lee@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Liu, Jieyu Chinese Society +44 (0)113 343 3462 j.y.liu@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Meyer, Stanislaw Okinawan History and Japanese Minorities  s.meyer@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher O'Connor, Justin Asian Culture +61 (0)402 395 008 m.j.oconnor@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Parnwell, Michael J. G. South-East Asian Development +44 (0)113 343 6334 m.j.g.parnwell@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Rawnsley, Ming-Yeh Chinese/Taiwanese Media and Identity +44 (0)113 343 1117 m.t.rawnsley@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Rayner, Jonathan Australasian/Japanese Cinema +44 (0)114 222 8457 j.r.rayner@sheffield.ac.uk 
Associate Researcher Seeger, Martin Thai Religion and Society +44 (0)113 343 7482  m.seeger@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Shin, Hyun Bang Urban Development in East Asia +44 (0)20 7955 6383 h.b.shin@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Shire, Karen Comparative Sociology and Japanese Society +49 (0)203 379 4048 k.shire@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Siddle, Richard Japanese Society and History  r.siddle@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Singh, Bhubhindar Japanese Politics and International Relations   b.singh@wreac.org  
Associate Researcher Stock, Jonathan Chinese and Taiwanese Music +44 (0)114 222 0483 j.stock@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Takeda, Hiroko Japanese Society and Politics +81 (0)3 5454 6338 h.takeda@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Tang, Ning Chinese Society +44 (0)114 225 6064 n.tang@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Taylor, Jeremy Chinese and Taiwanese History and Culture +44 (0)114 222 8427 j.taylor@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Taylor, Robert Chinese Economy and Society; Sino-Japanese Relations +44 (0)114 222 8429 r.i.d.taylor@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Tylecote, Andrew Chinese Management +44 (0)114 222 3415 a.tylecote@wreac.org 
Associate Researcher Zang, Xiaowei Chinese Sociology +44 (0)114 222 8404 x.zang@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Ampiah, Kweku Japanese Politics and International Relations +44 (0)113 343 4605 k.ampiah@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Bauer, Mikael Japanese pre-modern Buddhism and history; Classical Japanese literature and Kanbun +44 (0)113 343 0210 m.bauer@leeds.ac.uk 
Core Researcher Chen, Lily Chinese Linguistics +44 (0)114 222 8424 l.chen@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Chen, Yu China’s urbanisation and population movement +44 (0)114 222 8427 yu.chen@sheffield.ac.uk 
Core Researcher Cherry, Judith Korean Economy and Management +44 (0)114 222 8415 j.a.cherry@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Coutts, Angela Japanese Literature and Culture +44 (0)114 222 8412 a.m.coutts@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Dent, Christopher M. Asian Economy +44 (0)113 343 6470 c.m.dent@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Dobson, Hugo Japanese Politics and International Relations +44 (0)114 222 8437 h.dobson@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Dodd, Sarah Chinese fiction +44 (0)114 222 8404 jhm9sld@leeds.ac.uk 
Core Researcher Fielder, Caroline Religion and society in contemporary China +44 (0)113 343 4403 c.fielder@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Hayter, Irena Japanese Literature and Cultural History +44 (0)113 343 3415 i.hayter@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Kim, Seung-Young US-Korean relations and international relations of Northeast Asia +44 (0)114 222 8444 s.y.kim@sheffield.ac.uk 
Core Researcher Li, Ruru Chinese Theatre and Culture +44 (0)113 343 3469 r.li@wreac.org 
Core Researcher McAuley, Thomas E. Japanese Linguistics and Literature +44 (0)114 222 8413 t.e.mcauley@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Pattinson, David Chinese Literature and History +44 (0)113 343 3468 d.pattinson@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Pendleton, Mark History of twentieth century Japan +44 (0)114 222 8440 m.pendleton@sheffield.ac.uk 
Core Researcher Tranter, Nicolas Japanese Linguistics +44 (0)114 222 8433 n.tranter@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Voss, Hinrich Chinese Economy and Management +44 (0)113 343 2633 h.voss@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Watanabe, Hiroaki Richard Japanese/comparative political economy and East Asian international relations +44 (0)114 222 8339 h.watanabe@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Wei, Ziyi Chinese economic development  +44 (0)114 222 8435 z.wei@sheffield.ac.uk 
Core Researcher Williams, Mark Japanese Literature and Religion c/o Akita International University m.b.williams@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Yang, Lan Chinese Linguistics and Culture +44 (0)113 343 3455 l.yang@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Zhang, Mei Rural development and urbanisation in China +44 (0)114 222 8421 m.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk 
Core Researcher Zhang, Zhong Chinese Law and Management +44 (0)114 222 8425 z.zhang@wreac.org 
Core Researcher Zhao, Lucy Chinese Linguistics and Language Acquisition +44 (0)114 222 8414 l.zhao@wreac.org 
Deputy Head of School of Modern Language and Cultures, Leeds Dickins, James Arabic Linguistics and Translation +44 (0)133 343 1311  j.dickins@leeds.ac.uk 
Director of NICS Weightman, Frances Chinese Literature and Culture +44 (0)113 343 3560 f.weightman@wreac.org 
Director of NIJS; Director of Research Hook, Glenn D. Japanese Politics and International Relations +44 (0)114 222 8422 g.hook@wreac.org 
Director of Research Clegg, L. Jeremy Chinese and International Management +44 (0)113 343 4512 l.j.clegg@wreac.org 
Director of Research Conrad, Harald Japanese Economy and Management +44 (0)114 222 8431 h.conrad@wreac.org 
Director of Research Dryburgh, Marjorie Chinese History and Culture; Sino-Japanese Relations +44 (0)114 222 8408 m.e.dryburgh@wreac.org 
Director of Research Matanle, Peter Japanese Society and the Sociology of Work +44 (0)114 222 8407 p.matanle@wreac.org 
Director of Research Zhang, Heather Xiaoquan Chinese Development and Social Policy +44 (0)113 343 3497 h.zhang@wreac.org 
Executive Director Rose, Caroline Japanese Politics and History; Sino-Japanese Relations +44 (0)113 343 3471 c.rose@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Buckley, Peter J. Chinese Management +44 (0)113 343 4646 p.j.buckley@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Davin, Delia Chinese Society +44 (0)113 343 6774 d.davin@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Gluck, Carol Japanese History  c.gluck@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Grayson, James Korean History and Religion +44 (0)114 222 8418 j.h.grayson@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Hardie, Alison Chinese Art and Landscape +44 (0)113 343 3463 a.m.hardie@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Hasegawa, Harukiyo Japanese Economy and Business +81 (0)75 251 3819 h.hasegawa@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Hooper, Beverley Chinese Society  b.j.hooper@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow King, Victor T. South-East Asian Socio-Economic Development and Applied Anthropology  v.t.king@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Long, Norman Sociology and Anthropology of Development; Chinese Rural Development +31 (0)317 482 015 n.long@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Nordby, Judith Mongolian Religion and Politics +44 (0)113 343 6740 j.nordby@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Rimmington, Don Asian Studies  d.rimmington@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Waldenberger, Franz Japanese Economy +49 (0)89 2180 9821 f.waldenberger@wreac.org 
Honorary Fellow Wright, Tim Chinese Economy and History +44 (0)114 222 8406 t.wright@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Chinese Han, Yu  +44 (0)114 222 8410 yu.han@sheffield.ac.uk 
Language Tutor - Chinese Ning, Yi  +44 (0)113 343 3917 y.ning@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Chinese Peng, Ying   y.peng@leeds.ac.uk 
Language Tutor - Chinese Wu, Daming  +44 (0)113 343 3465 d.wu@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Arai, Mineko  +44 (0)114 222 8444 m.arai@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Ishiwata, Yumiko  +44 (0)114 222 8442 y.ishiwata@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Kittaka, Yuki  +44 (0)114 222 8449 y.kittaka@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Lacey, Christopher  +44 (0)113 343 1860 c.b.lacey@leeds.ac.uk 
Language Tutor - Japanese Morimoto, Kazuki  +44 (0)113 343 3561 k.morimoto@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Nagai, Miyuki  +44 (0)114 222 8445 m.nagai@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Oeda, Yuka  +44 (0)113 343 6870 y.oeda@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Takahashi, Motoko  +44 (0)114 222 8442 m.takahashi@sheffield.ac.uk 
Language Tutor - Japanese Takewa, Mika  +44 (0)113 343 6893 m.takewa@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Japanese Whateley, Chizu  +44 (0)114 222 8448 c.whateley@wreac.org 
Language Tutor - Korean Cho, Sukyeon  +44 (0)114 222 8446 s.cho@wreac.org 
Support - Administrative Officer (Leeds) Chen, Halima  +44 (0)113 343 8154 h.chen@wreac.org 
Support - Administrative Officer (Sheffield) Wheeler, Kylie  +44 (0)114 222 8336 k.wheeler@wreac.org 
Support - Clerical Assistant Yates, Diane  +44 (0)113 343 4032 d.yates@wreac.org 
Showing 104 items